#RabbitProofFence #SubstituteBrilliance #Twitter

As a variety of social medias are highly relevant for my 16/17 year olds, I have been scratching my head thinking I should try and use it in the classroom sometime. In a purposeful and educational way obviously, since it it very much exists there already on a daily basis. One of the medias I find particularly interesting is Twitter, which my collegue Lektor Hernesvold has blogged about on different occasions. So when she was substituting for me last week, guess what! She brought it into the classroom for me, and I LOVED IT! After the students had finished watching the film Rabbit Proof Fence she asked them to simply tweet about it (on ITL though, but still), and I could not stop smiling at my students comments. Here are some of my favorites:

  • The feeling you get when you fall asleep because a movie was boring. #boring #rabbitprooffence
  • Saw Rabbit proof fence yesterday. Best movie ever. Go look it up people. #IHaveNeverTweetedInMyEntireLife #BestMovieEver #HadSortOfAProblemUnderstandingTheQuestion
  • Rabbit Proof Fence was ubelivable!! I could see the movie 4 times in a row before i start being abit tired of it. An easy 10 out of 10 in my book. Recommend you strongly you watch it #bredde #tiempo
  • I recommend this film to every school that teaches history, because this is important piece history #bestmovieever
  • OMG! just saw the movie «rabbit proof fence», it was so good! I recomend everyone to see it! #sickestMovieEver
  • Just watched the movie Rabbit Proof Fence. A great film, but boring sometimes! #StolenGeneration#prayforthenative
  • The Rabbit Proof Fence is a moving film concerning the revolvings around «The stolen generation» in Australia. It is beautifully shot and I am always certain that it will leave you with a tear in your eye.
  • rabbit proof fence is the best movie ever!!!! #neville #aboriginal

A great idea, and so simple! Here I could see their honest opinions: some enjoyed the film, some did not. Perhaps some of them were a bit overly enthusiastic as well? Could that be because that´s what they think the teacher wants to hear, or possibly that it is these type of comments that are interesting in the «social media world»? Either something has to be SO GOOD or absolutely DREADFUL in order to draw attention? But of course, if they really liked it, that´s marvelous! Anyway, I think there are many interesting aspects here that one could draw upon later and create some interesting discussions in class about their choice of words and expressions (#discussion #BestDiscussionEver).

 
What I´ve learned from this is that I have been looking at it from the wrong angel (the too complicated one), thinking that the students would have to have their own account, I would have to let them wander off into the scary web on their own etc etc. With this approach we are starting by introducing element of Twitter to the students first, which can easily be adapted to all topics, and then do further work on Twitter at a later occasion. I asked them today if they thought «tweeting» about something was a good way of «boiling a topic or an opinion down» to one short paragraph, and I got mostly nod´s and yes´s across the classroom. Conclusion: I will most definitely try this myself as well sometime in the near future.

Lektor Hernesvold, you are #brilliant! THANKS FOR A GREAT IDEA!

I will also look more into this scoop about 60 ways to use Twitter in the classrom. I particularly like that the suggestions are organized into categories (communication, organization, resources, writing skills and Twitter exercises).

#Twitter #socialmedia #TTYL

 

6 thoughts on “#RabbitProofFence #SubstituteBrilliance #Twitter

  1. Reblogged this on Lektor Hernesvolds fagblogg and commented:
    Oh well. Brilliant – probably not. But quite interesting. I like how you have read other things from this than I did myself, DigitaleLena. I found the use of hashtags quite interesting. They seemed to follow different patterns: either they were «fun comments» (#boring), they linked to the actual movie (#Rabbitprooffence), or even signalled which groups they belong to(#bredde is the name of a class, I think).

    • #reblog #like! Interesting point about the patterns of comments. It seems to me that we were on to the same things, but from slightly different perspectives. Proves that to minds work better than one! I think I have some work to do to become more active on Twitter myself and get to know the system better, but when I do: I´m coming to talk to you for more ideas! Perhaps that is what our next collective blog post from the green sofa will be about?

  2. Tilbakeping: Lena's (soon to be) digital classroom | Nynorskjenta som nynorskvikar

  3. Great idea to «control» the students» social media use by emulating tweets on It’s Learning. That way you can scaffold their skills and understanding of writing publicly on the Internet. I sense there was a lot of #irony and #sarcasm among the comments, but overall you got them to reflect and share their opinions 🙂

    • Thanks for the #feedback, though most of the credit should be given to Lektor Hernesvold for the ITL idea. I agree with you, a lot of irony and sarcasm, but still, a great way of having them post their opinions in a closed and save environment. I actually believe that most of them don´t have a Twitter account, but if they did, I don´t think the teacher should force them to post something school related in social media if they do not want to themselves. This approach then lets everyone participate, regardless of their activities in social networks and their attitudes towards them.

  4. Tilbakeping: Kan man kvitre i klasserommet? | Veien mot lektor er digital

Legg att eit svar

